Who’s in Control Here?

About 7 months ago I walked into a doctor’s office.  I was feeling very bad.  I was sick every day.  I couldn’t sleep.  I have a horrible doctor. She was very curt and blunt.  She told me (and this is nearly a direct quote): I was obese, old, and had an unhealthy lifestyle, and that she couldn’t help me.

That was not what I wanted or expected to hear.  So I asked her to recommend the best way to lose weight and she said that she went to Weight Watchers.   Two days later I was at a meeting.  I really wanted to be anywhere else.  I was embarrassed that I needed help.  Heck, I was embarrassed to ask the doctor for help and I didn’t get it.  Now I had to ask for help again.  And I didn’t get it again.  What I got, instead, was them showing me a plan, but they told me that it was up to me, and that I was in control.   So, I decided to be in control.

It was  a week before Thanksgiving–NOT a good time to go on a diet, so I’m told. And I was leaving town the next day on a trip.  I don’t really think there is a good time to go on a diet.  However, there is no BAD time to change your lifestyle.  And that is what I have done.  I eat mostly fruits and vegetables and some lean meats.  Almost never do I touch sweets or processed sugar, and very little bread.  I have found that those were the things that were making me feel bad.  I don’t want to feel bad anymore.

And, I started a Couch to 5K program and I have run 3 5Ks races so far this year. I know I am lucky to be able to run at my age and am thankful for that.  I feel great.

Yes, I’m still quilting, but not as much.  Yes, I’m still losing weight, but not as much.  I am nearly at the weight I was 20 years ago.   I hope to get there by the 4th of July.  But if I don’t, it doesn’t matter.  My lifestyle has changed, and I’m the one in control of that.  I could have changed my doctor, but it turns out that, although her bedside manner stunk, she was right.

5 thoughts on “Who’s in Control Here?

  1. Congratulations on your improved health! Sounds like you’re enjoying your new energy and sense of control. It’s really hard to change what we eat, and how much, so you should be really proud of yourself.

  2. Y’know, you’re right. I’m sick of feeling like cr@p too. I’m looking up a local WW. I’ve done it before. I can do it again.

    Thanks for re-motivating me.

  3. I am so very proud of you for starting, and sticking with, your diet. We have to eat is the easiest excuse in the book. Choices and portions and “why “are the game. Well done for sure. It’s good to not sabotage a new day by eating something that makes you feel like a failure mentally and physically. It’s a battle we CAN take control of. The battle is real. Again, you are amazing!

  4. Congratulations.
    I too have given up the sweets and carbs. I do feel better. My weight loss has slowed down, but then again, my going to the gym has slowed down too. I used to walk more, but the HOT Texas weather has me not being outside as much.
    Keep up the good choices.

Leave a comment