De-Stashing: January 2014

002Well, I started off the year on a good note.  Finished up the Celtic Solstice, made a nifty little top of Leymone stars, and made some blocks for the Scrappy Challenge–THIRTY of them.  Yes, there is a smudgy spot on this picture.  Last thing I had done with my camera was try to take a close up of my dog.  Apparently a little too close….I have cleaned the lens.  Next picture should be better.

I have been trying to decide whether to stop here with a nice sized lap quilt, or to continue one with a larger quilt.  Maybe I should wait until Judy announces her February block–perhaps it will be a good alternate block for a setting?

Tomorrow is Super Bowl Sunday, or as we call it in my house–QUILTING TIME!  Hope you all have something great planned.

De-Stashed this Month:         11.50
De-Stashed year to Date:       11.50
Stashed this Month:                 4.75
Stashed Year to Date:              4.75

Net De-Stashed for 2013:  6.75
<<Goal for 2014:  Greater than 50 yards De-stashed>>>
Additionally, I want to limit my purchases to no more than 5 yards per month.

For more stash reports, visit Patchwork Times.

14 thoughts on “De-Stashing: January 2014

  1. I’ve also made a good start for the new year. I did not buy one piece of fabric in January. I’m almost finished quilting a large quilt I started in December.

  2. I love the scrapiness of your blocks. Your idea to see what February’s block is going to be before deciding what to do with your blocks is a great idea. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Wow! I am mightily impressed that you made 30 of Judy L’s scrappy blocks! I made one (but I was at a conference for a week so I couldn’t sew). Now that the Feb. block has been revealed I think I may make a sampler.

  4. Your Scrappy blocks looks great! I think I’d make it into a nice size lap quilt with a border or two, or put sashing and cornerstones in between each block to stretch it. I’m all for finishing up UFOs this year and not increasing my boxes of them.

Leave a Reply

