The Travelling Chair

001The travelling chair is back with us.  We bought this chair for relaxing and rocking our baby when I was about 8 months pregnant with my son.  That would have been late 1985.  Purchased in Terre Haute, Indiana, it moved with us to Wisconsin in 1988, to South Carolina in 1992. For many years it stayed in the same place. Then sometime about 2006 it moved to my son’s college apartment, then back with us in about 2008, then to my daughter’s college apartment, and back to us in 2009. Then back to us–although in the meantime WE had moved to North Carolina. Then back to my son’s apartment that he shared with his girlfriend, and last summer, to his own place. And a few weeks ago, it returned to us here in North Carolina.

So this chair has been with us in 4 states, and has served every member of our family.  You may be able to see that it is a bit worn….but so comfortable.  I spent many nights in this chair rocking my babies.  And my kids spent many nights sleeping in this chair, as did many of our dogs.  It has been witness to many changes over the years.  I can’t find it in me to let it go.

Leave a Reply

