De-Stashing: May 2013

001Over Memorial Day weekend, I head to the beach in South Carolina to hang out with some of my old quilting buddies.  One of the things I took along was my row-by-row that I did with 7 members of my North Carolina Guild.  I took the box along and made the borders, but did not attach them until I got home.  I kind of got sick of making flying geese and kept rolling around how exactly to do the inner borders.   And the corner pieces!!!    Aack.  I tossed around idea after idea.  I viewed pictures on the web.  I see very little in the way of ideas for corner pieces for a flying geese border–let alone an undulating flying geese border.

In the end, I used a diamond, two more flying geese, and a square to continue the undulating border to a point and then around the corner.  I liked the end result.  I worked on a lot of little projects this month, including the dust cover,  a charity quilt and back, some scrappy blocks, and a couple of gifts of fabric. All in all a good month.  If I can just keep this up through year end.

De-Stashed this Month:         12.75
De-Stashed year to Date:       64.75
Stashed this Month:                 8.50
Stashed Year to Date:               41.75

Net De-Stashed for 2013: 23.00<<Goal for 2013:  Greater than 25 yards De-stashed>>>

For more stash reports, visit Patchwork Times.

4 thoughts on “De-Stashing: May 2013

  1. Your row quilt is awesome. Love your flying geese border too, although those little guys are not my favorite block to piece. I may have to save this idea for a future border on a scrap quilt. Your corners look good! Nice job.

Leave a Reply

