De-Stashing: March 2013

001 001This month I have spent half of it away from home, so it’s amazing I finished anything–but I did!  I finished quilting 5 quilts of valor–one of them that I also pieced in February (sorry, no picture of it yet as it is the Mystery #30 currently in progress).  Also complete is my Hawaiian memories quilt–I took it with me to Indiana and bound it there while taking care of my mom post-op.  I also made a small charity quilt using the disappearing nine patch pattern.  It was simple and finished nicely.  The random blue scraps look pretty nice, I think.  I need to get that one backed and quilted yet.

Most of my fabric this month went to the Mystery sampler that I make for the Quilters of South Carolina Fall Retreat.  Again, I took my cutting stuff to Indiana and cut it all out.  The last two weekends have almost gotten it together.  All blocks done, a couple of the rows sewn.  Just need some more time.

But someone shared this tip with me and I have to share it with you because it has been so wonderful in making my mysteries.  I do a lot of “dog-eared triangles” where you overlay a square, sew a 45 degree angle and trim off the underneath.  Over the years I’ve tried various methods and gotten pretty good at eye-balling it.  Then I found this tip for using a strip of paper:  http://www.quiltmaker.com/blogs/quiltypleasures/2012/02/qm-shorts-no-mark-stitch-flip/
I used a nice heavyweight envelope that I happened to have lying around in my sewing room.  It was perfect.  Too light of a paper would be too flimsy, I think, and if it was too heavy you might smoosh up the under layer on the feed dogs.  But regardless, this tip has changed my life.

De-Stashed this Month:         13.00
De-Stashed year to Date:       45.00
Stashed this Month:                 3.00
Stashed Year to Date:               26.75

Net De-Stashed for 2013: 18.25<<Goal for 2013:  Greater than 25 yards De-stashed>>>

For more stash reports, visit Patchwork Times.

I will starting Mystery #30 at  http://groups.yahoo.com/group/MysteryQuilts4Military/   my Mystery Quilts for Military group–just barely started.   You do have to join the group to participate in the mystery.

4 thoughts on “De-Stashing: March 2013

Leave a Reply

