Where Have I Been?

I always try to get to see my mom each summer, and this summer hadn’t been working well for me.  My son had to move-twice.  We had to help him find a place, then my daughter had to come home for a couple of weeks, her fiance too.  AND her dog.  And then my son’s car, our lawnmower, and there were other things.  It just felt like we were going, going, going, and never getting anywhere.

But at last, we did get up to Indiana this last weekend and got to spend a few days with mom.  They were just quiet, relaxing days.  Didn’t do much but work on jigsaw puzzles, watch TV, go out to eat, and a short visit to a local quilt show and festival.  But we had a nice visit.  It was so good to see my mom!

So, obviously, there has been no quilting.  However, saw a video the other day on how to make a Chevron quilt, and thought I would share it.  I have made this quilt before calling it a “Zig Zag quilt”.  I like to make my blocks a bit smaller (by my math, her blocks must be about 7 inches).  Because I like my blocks smaller (and perfect) I use the Quilt in a Day Triangle Square Up ruler and make my blocks about 4 or 5 inches.  I refer to that ruler as the best $11 I ever spent.  Most local quilt shops carry them.  That’s also the ruler I used to make my boxer dog/Carpenter star quilt.

Anyway, hope you had some fun quilting while I was out visiting!

Leave a Reply

