The Boxer Quilt is in the Bag

I finished the boxer quilt to be donated to Blue Ridge Boxer Rescue.  I’m hoping they will be able to use it to make some cash for their organization.  This is the third quilt I have made for them.  The others have been queen size quilts, but to help with their emergency medical fund, I made this one quickly, and a little smaller (80 x 66 — twin sized).  The pattern was inspired by Judy Laquidara’s Carpenter Star pattern, although I changed the sizes of the inner and outer border and of course, replaced the 4 center blocks with my boxer silhouette.

When I emailed the rescue coordinator to let her know it was done, she mentioned that they would be taking the quilt around to various events to “show it”.  A good idea that would help increase the money made.

But I didn’t want the quilt to get dirty.  So I grabbed the red block with my boxer silhouette that I had originally planned to put in the quilt’s center.  I added a dog print fabric (where did that come from????) top and bottom–careful to watch the orientation, then left and right.  A single 20 x 24 piece of the dog fabric for the back.  I guess that’s what you call a doggie bag!  I made a muslin line with a 2″ strip of the doggie fabric at the top of the muslin–so it doesn’t looks so “blah” when peering in the top of the bag.   Topped off by using the same red fabric from the block for the handles. Now the rescue has a little extra selling point with the coordinating bag.

For those of you who don’t know, my two boxers, both of whom are BRBR alumni are my best friends and companions since I have become an empty nester.  Carter, is around 8 or 9 years old and has been with us for 7 years.  He has no manners and is kind of a goofball.  He’s allergic to everything, and loves to eat bananas and green beans.  Holiday is about 6 years old and has been with us for 4 and a half years.  She is the happiest dog I have ever seen,  and she gets along fine on 3 legs.  She loves everyone.

Leave a Reply

