Stash Report 2012 – Week 19

A big week, as I made two backings.  I quilted one of the quilts–the boxer quilt.  The Alligator quilt (yes, you are right, no picture yet) is off the frame and I still need to do some work on it.   After it, I loaded the boxer quilt, and now have a quilt on it that is promised for our guild’s silent auction for our show in October.  So please notice that not only do I have some good “busted” numbers,  I did NOT visit a quilt shop!!  Also notice that the resulting number is now green….

Busted this Week:        10.75
Busted year to Date:   88.00
Stashed this Week:       0.00
Stashed Year to Date: 84.00

Net Busted for 2011: 4.00<<< Still within my goal>>> 2012 Goal: + /- 25.00

For more stash reports, visit Patchwork Times.

And What about Those UFOs?

This month, Judy at Patchwork Times chose UFO number 2 to work on.

For April, I gave my UFO away.  As far as the UFO of the month goes, I plan on ignoring it again!!!  At least for the moment. This is one challenge where I am just totally failing as far as following the number of the month.   I am getting things done.  I can’t believe the alligator is now quilted (except I found a couple of background places I missed), and have a couple of cosmetic things to finish–and am thinking of doing some interesting binding things that I really don’t want to detail until I figure out if they are do-able.    They are in my head and not yet translating to fabric.  Not sure if they can……….

Basically, I haven’t let the challenge update my creative process–such that it is.  And the good thing is that I now have a focus on all these undone things.  It would be so much easier if all the things I had left undone could just be sewn together and then quilted with a panto, but that’s not what’s on my list.  Most of them are unique items that require some serious artistic work. 

Perhaps I’m not working within the spirit of the challenge–tackling a specific project each month–but I am still working within the spirit of getting old projects done and/or off my plate.    How about you?  Making any progress?

 

5 thoughts on “Stash Report 2012 – Week 19

  1. Congrats on being in the black! That’s definitely a good stash week.

    I look at the UFO challenge as a way to do what you are doing, focus on the undone stuff. I have finished one UFO top and have made signifcant progress on one other. So it’s been producitve for me too. Good luck finishing up your alligator project. Even if you don’t get it done, any progress towards that goal is all good.

  2. My unfinished projects aren’t on a list. I know they are there because they sit in a big basket near my chair reminding me. I like to have them where I can see them because I think about them in a corner of my mind, about what I might need to take them to next step. Or what I think might like good as the next step.

    I just finished one of them, after finshing three quilts from your latest mystery.
    Challenges are great to a point. They should not stifle your creativity if your in the mood to do something to celebrate spring and all you’ve got is fall qult to work on Or you need to make a quilt to celebrate a new baby. Those projects shouldn’t be held up by something you don’t want to work on at the moment. It will be fall again and time for the other quilt soon enough. But what do I know. I was born under the sign of Gemini and I always have several things going at once.

  3. I know what you mean! The Challenge does help to keep me focused, but I’m not managing to finish up each project within the month! I’m just now finishing up March’s Challenge quilt! But it’s okay because at least it is progress, and I have cleared out three project bins so far this year…. about to be four :*)

  4. I can only work on a project that I want to work on. As long as you are finishing your UFOs that is all that matters. Your numbers are great! You are doing great.

  5. Great numbers! I can’t do a UFO a month. They are in such different states of being finished and life happens. As long as you’re happy finishing what you want to finish – good for you!

Leave a Reply

