Stash Report 2012 – Week 11 (and Giveaway)

This weekend was another quilt show (the one I mentioned in Trash Talkin’).  That actually accounts for some of, although not all, of my additions–I won a door prize. My small quilt was not hung by a sleeve, although some (maybe half) were.  So I still think their rule was unnecessary and feel like they just wanted to be (insert your own comment here).  After some thought, I have decided that I don’t agree with that guild on lots of things–particularly the way they treat new members (like me!)–so that will be the last guild function I attend.  My husband is thrilled.

Now about that door prize.  Since you all listened to my little trash talkin’ episode, I’ve decided one of you should have it.  To enter, leave a comment  saying you’d like the door prize and I will pick someone Friday at 5 pm Eastern time.  And since I whined a little, and I find these FQ pretty blah, I’ll throw in a fat quarter or two of my own to spice them up! I will use a random number generator, or my husband.  He’s a pretty good random number generator.  Although, I admit that he gives me annoyed looks when I ask him to pick a number between 1 and 12 and don’t tell him what for.

Now on to the stash report.  I did a lot of sewing this week and plan to get some more done today.  Alas, I cannot picture what I have done because they are mysteries.  Which means they will show up as progress later on the blog but will magically use no fabric. In between the usually dusting, vacuuming, laundry, and dog walking, I hope to get some more quilting done that I can show you.

Busted this Week:                 12.50
Busted year to Date:            49.00
Stashed this Week:              4.00
Stashed Year to Date:           58.75
Net Stashed for 2011:    9.75   
<<<<Still within my goal>>>>> 2012 Goal:                 + /- 25.00

For more stash reports, visit Patchwork Times.

38 thoughts on “Stash Report 2012 – Week 11 (and Giveaway)

  1. Are you counting these FQs as Stashed this Week in your report, and then Busted next week? Just wondering! Sure, I’d like to win a door prize! And BTW, it is good to stop going to a guild that just bugs you – I’ve done the same and never missed them.

  2. Sorry thing have worked out this way for you….but better to be around those that stimulate you instead of those that have bad vibes! Good luck….can’t wait to see your mystery quilts!

  3. Yes Sharon, they are in this week’s stashed number. When I put them in an envelope next week they will go into the busted category. Kind of feels like cheating to anticipate busting some fabric while writing up your stash report, doesn’t it? 🙂

  4. Congrats on your door prize! And, thanks for your generosity! It’s better to find these things out early rather then to be frustrated for months on end – good for you!

  5. Count me in please. I never tried our local quilt guild because of similar responses to people that my quilty friends experienced.

  6. I would like the door prize. Your story reminds me of a bad experience I had at my first guild meeting. I decided I would try it one more time before making a decision. I am so glad I did, the ladies are wonderful. The two ladies that showed themselves as something less than I thought was appropriate are both very good people, but they don’t get along and it happened to be that meeting where it showed.So glad I went back for that second visit.

  7. Thanks for the chance to win your door prize fabrics! Good for you to make a choice to not go back to a guild that does not reflect your own goals and ideas about fellowship & friendship! I’m a member of 3 guilds and each has it’s own personality. So far, I have been pretty happy with them all fortunately. You’re doing a great job of staying on track with your stash!

  8. Congratulations on the door prize, thanks for sharing and sorry about the guild thing……there’s a local clique in my neck of the woods that I avoid, so I do sympathize! I would put your door prize and additional fat quarters to good use since I have a small stash and need some fabric for an upcoming Gwen Marston workshop I’ll be taking.

  9. Congratulations on your win and the decision regarding your guild. Perhaps you will find more Kindred Spirits who think along your lines and you can start a new one.

  10. Hi Nancy. I hope you find a guild your more suited for. I’m looking forward to your next mystery. I hope it starts soon. Seems so long. I’d really love the fat quarters. Gotten much better and finding uses for them.

  11. Thanks for your generosity and congratulations on your Door Prize…and I would love to win a door prize…thanks for the chance to enter…

  12. Hmmm…sounds like people can be a problem..everywhere!! I hope you are able to find a group more to your liking…but I’m delighted you won the doorprize and even more delighted that you are sharing!

  13. I would love to receive your door prize. I live in the middle of nowhere and have no guild and no fabric shops nearby and can always use some fresh fabric for my quilts.

  14. Sorry about your bad experience with the guild, but it’s not an uncommon thing. But remember, you always have us!! Throw my name in the hat too. I depeleted one whole color family this week.! Notice I said color — tee hee, not all my fabric.

  15. Sorry about the way you were treated at the Guild. I have never been one nor do I ever want to. I would be honored to become the new owner of “your” door prize. You are a very talented lady and appreciate all your time that you put into designing your QOV quilts.

    • I would like to win the door prize.
      Also, I had a bad experience the first time I attended a guild meeting. I never returned..very bad vibes and my friends that are in this guild are miserable and always complaining about it. I just shake my head because they do this to themselves when they too can just walk away.

      Lisa in Georgia

  16. I’d like to win just about anything. LOL I too stopped attending the local guild which was just too cliqueeeee! IYKWIM and I think you do. I like to quilt too much to waste what time I have left. Keep on taking care of yourself! 😎

  17. Would love a door prize … and, really did they put those fabric colors together? Sorry you aren’t happy with the guild. I’ve found some guilds do a fabulous job of welcoming folks and others don’t. Hopefully there are others in your area you can go to as I find I get really inspired by seeing what other folks get done.

  18. Nann,
    Looks like you are doing great with your stash! I’m working on mine, too, alto typical projects for me are KING BED QUILTS, so takes longer for one. Please put me in the drawing for the prizes!

    Hugs,
    Amy in KY

  19. Sad to see that the rules not the people have soiled you on the guild. these people need to realize they are of no help to the hobby they so adhere to.

    Glad to see that you have no hard feelings and that you are willing to part with some of your stash and prize!

    Please pick me and help me have enough fabric for my second quilt (hope to be a Bonnie K Hunter pattern! We all know that the more diverse the fabric the better the quilt is! lol

  20. OK…I have to join in – particularly since your guild experience closely matches my own.

    I had thought I’d join the Modern Quilt Guild chapter in Jacksonville, FL as it’s the closest one to my retirement place in Wakulla. Imagine my ‘surprise’ when I was FLATLY turned down – i.e., ‘your request for membership has been denied’ – no reason or chance to appeal as the e-mail was ‘noreply’.

    OH WELL! Guess the mean girls didn’t want a boy in their group.

Leave a Reply

