Gadget Challenge: February Update

So are you still gazing at your gadgets, templates, and rulers and thinking “I should do something with that?”  Because this year, I’m trying.  This month, I chose another accucut die that I had not yet used–a 3 1/2 inch tumbler.  I got a head start on it while working on my UFO for the month (the alligator quilt, which is not, and will not be done in February thank you).

Remember, my goal was to make 12.5 inch square blocks.  Well tumblers aren’t square.  However, they do make nice rows, so I made 4 rows of tumbler in red, white, and blue, and then whacked off (that’s a technical quilting term) the edgesto make a 12.5 inch square block.

So I call this month’s challenge a success, and add another 12.5 inch block to my pile to make into a quilt at the end of the year.

How did you do?  Even if you didn’t take the challenge, are you using some of your rulers,  gadgets, templates?

2 thoughts on “Gadget Challenge: February Update

  1. I am so far behind with keeping you posted with my challenge. I took pictures of my January block but haven’t figured out how to post them. I’m not the sharpest tool in the shed.
    I didn’t get to make my February yet as soon as I get caught up I’ll let you know. Love reading about your tools.

  2. My February gadget was the 1″ strip cutter. I actually bought it to make bias binding. And it is great for that, so much easier. But I made a quilt top in February that incorporated 1″ and 3/4″ cut strips in it. I love those strip cutters and the blocks turned out great. I have the utmost confidence in my ability to sew straight, not so much my ability to cut accurately in those small sizes. Now I have to go look at my list and see what I am going to do in March for gadgets.

Leave a Reply

