Stash Report – 2012 Week 7

This week I made those two QOV borders and backings that I wrote about last week.   I quilted one of them.  Then I jumped in full steam to my UFO (my alligator quilt).  As of last night, I have all the pieces cut for the largest, pieced border, and 3 sides made (but not attached).  I calculated approximately 600+/- pieces in this border.  It seemed like a good idea at the time.  And then, I still have not completed the applique center which will be the next thing I must do.  Probably before attaching those borders….

Unfortunately I haven’t been able to spend all my time sewing.  A couple of late nights working, doing the kids’ taxes, and such, and I feel like I have no time at all.  Well, here are the numbers for the week.

Busted this Week:                    9.00
Busted year to Date:               31.75
Stashed this Week:                  0.00
Stashed Year to Date:            28.50

Net Busted for 2011:    5.25
2012 Goal:                 + /- 25.00

At the moment, I feel like I have my stash under control.  Are you in control of your stash?  To see more stash reports, visit Patchwork Times.

5 thoughts on “Stash Report – 2012 Week 7

  1. You are well on your way to meeting your goal for this year – more than most people can claim! I don’t count my fabric as used until the project is complete, so I seem to make no progress for weeks, then make a huge jump. Otherwise, I’d never be able to keep track of what was reported…..

    • I considered that method, and you know, it has the same issues to a degree. I made those backings, but when I quilt that second quilt I will show no progress on my stash report for that, because it was already reported.

      My rule is: once I cut and sew fabric into a project, I consider it committed–and therefore used. If I were to take something out and repurpose the fabric (which I have not done since I started keeping track), I’d be cutting and sewing it into the new project right away, so wouldn’t consider its use. Fabric in my sewing room is either in use in a project or in my drawers (stash)

      I think whatever method people use is fine. The point is, of course, to be in control of your stash. However we do that, we are ahead of the game!

  2. Congrats on another week in the black. Mine is under control, though I’m in the red. Most of the fabric that has been bought is going into UFOs, so it should work out OK by the end of the year (that’s the plan anyway).

  3. Wow – can’t wait to your borders with 600 pieces – bet it will be pretty! GReat numbers! My stash numbers aren’t huge, in either direction, but they’re in the positive, so far.

Leave a Reply

