Stash Report 2011 – Week 48

As I put the week on this one I realize how close to 52 is week 48.  Wow!  Nearly a whole year.  I used some more stash by starting on two separate quilts (because hey, I pretty much ran out of UFO’s this last year).  Believe it or not, I currently have 7 UFOs in my sewing room.  And that includes the 2 I started.  To me, it is a UFO when I cut fabric for it.  I have a few other things where I bought the fabric and pattern, but never cut a piece, so I do not count that.  That is a dream, not a UFO.  So based on UFO numbers, I am really not the worst in terms of unfinished projects.  Probably because over the last couple of years I have worked hard at reducing that number.

Busted this Week:                 1.75
Busted year to Date:        187.75
Stashed this Week:                   0
Stashed Year to Date:     136.50

Net Busted for 2011: 50.25  (and hooray, I made it over 50 yards, my personal goal.  Now if I can just keep this number over 50 through the end of 2011)

Want to see more stash reports? Visit Patchwork Times.

Not done yet….I am still planning on the Ruler/Template/Gadget Challenge for 2012.  Are you?

I have always tried to challenge myself in years past to do this and that to improve my quilting or learn something new.  One year, after a particularly bad year, I just challenged myself to do more.  Do anything!  I had been discouraged about quilting and for a while it was an effort for me to do anything.  One year I challenged myself to complete my Baltimore Album quilt.  Another year I challenged myself to improve my machine quilting.  I am convinced this is how you grow.  If you keep doing the same things, you will get the same results.  Sometimes that’s good, but who wants to do the same thing over and over?

I will post more about the challenge this month, but in the meantime I encourage you to open the drawer where you store all these marvelous tools and gadgets.  Make a list of 6-12 of them that you really want to try using.  For now, that’s all.  Not sure what I’m talking about?  Fine, I’ll list some of mine to give you an idea:

The X-cut ruler
Drunkard’s path templates
Wave-edge ruler
Flip flop curve block template
Ruler for setting triangles
Rulers for use on the longarm
Bias tape makers
Tri-recs templates
Oh, and I have an Accucut with at least a DOZEN dies I have not yet used.  Each one could be on my list.

I love rulers.  I confess I have a strange and unnatural affection for these things.  I have an entire drawer full of rulers.  Well this year, I’m going to dig into that drawer and use it or put it up for sale.  Or at least really think hard about it (Ok, I’m  a bit of a wimp about getting rid of my beloved rulers).  But you get the idea.  Use, reevaluate.  If you are like me, you’re going to have to work hard to limit it to 12.  But that will be our goal.  For now.

I confess I have no idea what I’m doing hosting a challenge.  But I will try to encourage you, report my progress, give you a chance to report yours, and have some sort of prize or two at the end.  It will be an adventure for both of us!  Are you in?

4 thoughts on “Stash Report 2011 – Week 48

  1. Congrats on making your personal goal of more than 50 yards net reduction. Now that you are there, hopefully it will be easy to maintain.

    A ruler challenge. That’s a thought. I know I have some rulers that are just sitting around that should be used. Not sure I can do 12, but the challenge sounds interesting.

  2. What a great idea!1 it must be the time of year. I have been writing lists for the New Year about what to work on. Like always I will bite off more than I can “chew” I have a few gadgets, including an Accuquilt cutter, that I would like to at least say I used it. I will check in.

  3. Hi Nancy, I just found your blog from Quiltville. I am also doing the Orca Bay mystery. I am going to join you with your ruler challenge. What a great idea. Boy do we all have rulers that we bought and have never used. I also need to challenge myself with my Accuquilt Cutter too. I will post about this in my blog tomorrow. Happy Quilting.

Leave a Reply

