In a Bind(ing)

Last night I worked on my Coke quilt UFO and it is nearly ready to pop on the frame.  Since I plan on a simple all-over quilting, that means it will soon be ready to bind.  <sigh>

I am slow at binding.  I mean S-L-O-W.  Try as I might, I can’t really figure out why.  I do a good job.  I don’t obsess over it or anything.  I don’t struggle with it.  I don’t even mind those mitred corners.  (Although a good friend of mine once told me that you only get 4 PERFECT corners in your lifetime–and they’ll all be on different quilts.  I have 3 more to go……)

It’s not a job I dread.  It’s not even mind numbingly dull to the point I can shut off while doing it.  I do it in front of the TV in the evenings, sometimes in the car on long trips –when my husband is driving, of course.  I’m just slow.  It’s not that I’m being harsh on myself.  I’ve sat down and stitched with other quilters.  If there were a binding race, I’d finish last.  I’m just slow.  I have yet to figure out why.

How about you?  Are there some parts of quilting that you just find yourself slow at?  Or that just don’t ever seem to go as quickly as you want?   Or the way you want?

4 thoughts on “In a Bind(ing)

  1. Binding is a chore…you’ve finally finished the quilt and there is the binding staring you in the face. I don’t have any trouble with mitered corners, but it’s just drudgery for me. Yes, it does take a long time. I think everyone is slow in binding…you are not alone. BTW, I’m making the 3-color quilt from the Mystery web site for the son of a friend who has mild PTSD and is struggling to get a business started. I thought it would be a quick one to do. Hang in there. My stash will never be busted!!

    Nancy

  2. I used to dislike the binding part of quilting also. Then I decided to try to perfect it using my sewing machine. Now it is just another part of the process for me. I don’t do a perfect binding, all done on the machine, but it is acceptable to me. I get a little bit better with each quilt.

  3. I have to admit I’m slower at the binding also. This month I had 4 to do within two weeks. I had gotten two QOV back but waited until I finished sewing a quilt top to start (so that I wouldn’t end up with a UFQ that I’d lost interest in). Just as I finished binding those two another two came back. Yet the binding is so important to the quilt. It adds strength and has to stand up to a lot of wear. Maybe we shouldn’t worry about how fast someone else is and just slow down and smell the roses. It’s something I can do when I’m with my husband. Not upstairs in my sewing room.

Leave a Reply

