Stash Report 2011 – Week 20

Seems like I just started keeping track the other day–and here we are at week 20.  This week I did absolutely nothing until Thursday.  Then I played catch up on the QuiltAlong –so, for the last couple of weeks, I’ve been calling it the “QuiltBehind”.  But then, after catching up, I made a back for my most recent mystery top, and -gasp- put it on the frame!.  Even bigger gasp–I am almost finished quilting it!

Of course, with cotton prices being so high, and now the flooding along the Mississippi (which is going to hit a lot of cotton fields), I am wondering if we are as clever as we think using up our stash.  It’s like gold right now, isn’t it? 

Also, I have been trying to round out my life.  Been doing more exercise, more job-searching (I don’t think my boss knows I have a blog, nor would he read it), more house organizing.  And then, of course, there’s the whole daughter and fiance moving into and invading my house.  Somehow I will survive.  In the meantime, hope your numbers please you as mine do me:

Busted this Week:               4.5
Busted year to Date:       84
Stashed this Week:             0
Stashed Year to Date:    54.5

Net Busted  for 2011:  29.5

5 thoughts on “Stash Report 2011 – Week 20

  1. Sounds like a busy time in your life right now. Having a new almost family member moving in must be a challenge getting to know him, his likes, etc… I agree about the price of cotton going up. I am astonished that fabric is up to $12 at my LQS. Your numbers are great.

  2. I was amazed at how much fabric Barbara Chapman discarded when her sewing room was organized. No one is discarding any of my stash until I’m gone. As you said the price of cotton is like Gold now. We can’t afford to waste it. Just the other day I was tearing my closet to find just the right blue to go with the quilt I was making. Have you tried to find a decent red lately. I’m not talking about dark red’s or orange red, but your flag red. Same goes for certain blue’s.

    Doesn’t it seem that just as your life is finally going along a path you wanted that life has other plans? But then again the other plans are what makes our life so much richer. Our daughter and her husband moved in with us about 14 years ago. They brought with them a 2 month old son. They stayed with us about 2 years while they saved the down payment for a home of their home. Our life was so much richer for having them with us. Now they live two blocks from our house and any time we (as the older folks) need a helping hand they are here. Our grandson mows our grass since my husband is no longer able to, and we are always invited to their cookouts.

Leave a Reply

